Department of English

Established in 2016, the department aims to be a centre for a deep appreciation of Language and Literature. Also to fuel the love for Literature amongst students, the department aims to encourage noble and sincere research. In a world that is constantly changing we would like to with Literature reassure the power and the nature of art and its influence on inquisitive minds.

Programmes of the Study: MA

Entrance Examinations :

Eligibility : Bachelors Degree or Equivalent is eligible for admission

Type of Entrance Test : UU CET

Question paper type : Objective

1.Md Irfan , Assistant Professor, Co-ordinator.
2. A.H.Abubakar, Assistant Professor

Departmental Activities:
1. The Department of English apart from following the academic schedule has managed to take time out for making the students pick a book by themselves and review it. A Literary review and a critical appreciation session with His Excellency Vice-Chancellor being the chief guest was organized on 16th March, 2018.

2. Prof. V.V.N.Rajendra Prasad, Visiting Professor of Central University of Andhra Pradesh, Anantapur was invited to give a lecture on “English as a Global Language: Why, What and How English” on 28th March, 2018.

1. Khan Mohammed Irfan Ali (Batch 2016-18) has been selected as a translator for Google. He translates Arabic to English. He has been recently recruited.

2.Shaik Himayatullah our student and also an Organic Farmer (Batch 2016-18) has been asked by the administration of Dr.Abdul Haq Urdu University to impart basic skills about Natural Farming amongst UG students as a part of Skill Development Programme, (A project undertaken by Govt of AP)

A group of students from the department have participated in some literary events conducted by District Minority Welfare Department on the eve of National Education Day at KVR Govt College for women on 11th November, 2017.

All the students from the department, who have gone, have come back with laurels, bagging 1, 2 and 3 places in essay writing and elocution competitions. The winners are S Firoz Basha, Hajeera Begum, Himayatullah, Mohsina Begum and Shama Tabassum.